Big business takes one for the team – NOT!

Image

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I have two big, beautiful dogs.  In all my dog owning years, I have always used Purina Pro Plan for feeding my pets.  My pets have been healthy, and active and I have had no complaints, until now.  When I buy food, I always buy the largest bag that the store carries.  For ProPlan, that is an 18.1Kg bag or 40 lbs.  Recently, I went to get food, and found that the 40lb bags had been replaced by 15kg or 33lb bags.  As you can imagine, I assumed that the price would be reflected in the change of size, and it was.  It had gone up by a few dollars!  So I did what any logical person would do, and contacted the company to find out what was going on.  The following is the email I received in return.  You will notice that they did their utmost to put the blame on the retailer, while making every excuse as to why the smaller bag cost the same amount.  As I have said, I have always used ProPlan.  I have been the company’s biggest cheerleader.  Until now.

Dear Mrs. Goldfarb,

Thank you for contacting us concerning the recent downsizing of the 18.1 kg bags of Pro Plan dog food to 15 kg. We appreciate the opportunity of responding to your questions. 

Many food companies, including pet food manufacturers, have experienced significant increases in recent months in commodity and ingredient costs. Nestlé Purina, like companies across the country, is doing everything possible to keep costs down and thus avoid the need for further price increases. While we are still manufacturing Purina Pro Plan dog food, we have reduced the net weight of this product instead of passing on a price increase to the consumers. We have also found that downsizing Pro Plan from an 18.1 kg to a 15 kg size helps control bad goods costs due to broken and/or damaged bags that arrive at store level or sit on retail shelves and get damaged by carts etc. 

Retail pricing is at the sole discretion of the Retailer, and Purina does not control the final prices consumers see at the shelf. Once products are purchased from us, the wholesaler or retailer is free to set their own prices. We cannot set retail pricing as this is an offence under Criminal Law in Canada. Prices can vary from week to week and from store to store. While we do not have control over what a retailer charges for our products, I would think that competition keeps their prices fair and reasonable.

Because we value you as a loyal customer of Nestlé Purina PetCare and appreciate your taking the time to contact us, I am sending you, by mail, Savings Certificates which we hope you will use the next time you go shopping.

Again, we appreciate hearing from you. It gives us here at Nestlé Purina a chance to share our views with you.

Sincerely,

Cathy
Pet Advisor NPPC160103

25-Jan-20

Leave a Reply

