A Little Bit About Me

summer2011august 004

I can see my blog posts are getting read, and I can see a nice comment here and there.  All of these things make me feel great.  Its somewhat like moving into a new community and slowly meeting your neighbours.  The ones who would have brought you fresh cookies or a cake, are the ones that hit the “like” button, and the ones who will only talk to you when they need help shovelling the bottom of the driveway after the snow plow goes by, say nothing at all.  But I know they are there, thanks to the magic of technology.  So for those of you who have come by with your cakes and cookies, thanks for coming and I am happy to make your acquaintance!

My name is Pam and I run the website http://www.petbreederconnection.com.  I have been a dog lover all my life and this website has become my baby.  Firstly, I will tell you I am a mother of 4 kids and 2 dogs.  I wouldn’t change any of that for the world except to add a few more bodies. But alas, I also know my limitations, and I am sure I would be locked up somewhere right now if those bodies, canine or human ever came to fruition!

I have always been on the side of animals, but not so far as to call myself an animal activist.  You see, I am also a realist.  I accept that we are carnivores and will eat meat.  I accept that we are smarter and will reap the benefits of that.  I accept that nine times, out of ten, the humans will win the fight, but I have to admit, every once in a while, when the animals turn the tables, I am right there cheering them on.

For many years, I ran my own jewellery business, hand-crafting sterling silver jewellery, but after a while, the hammer makes your ears ring, and the clients make your head hurt.  I was looking for something else to do and came upon an ad for a writer on an animal website.  Something clicked inside of me and I became determined to that the job would be mine.

I don’t like to use the term “stalking” but I quickly found out who the writer of the ad was, his website, and more importantly, his phone number, and I called.  We met the very next day and the rest is history.  The whole idea of Pet Breeder Connection was to create a database of reputable and responsible dog breeders.  No puppy mills, no backyard breeders, and no “designer” breeds.  (That means any breed ending in “poo” or “doodle”!) I must admit, I took a lot of flack at first.  Breeders would call me and insult me. They would make me prove to them that I was capable of asking all the right questions, and making the right calls, and eventually, through word of mouth, I created a populated database of breeders.

The other part of my job that I love was the creation of a monthly newsletter.  I could do whatever I wanted, however I wanted.  I was responsible for all the content.  My favourite newsletter to this day is my September 2012 edition.  In this newsletter I had the pleasure of interviewing Dame Daphne Sheldrick.  She has always been a hero of mine, and while the interview had nothing to do with dog breeding, I guess I figured that anyone who loves dogs must love other wildlife as well.  More recently, I discovered blogging.  I mean, I always knew what it was, but I couldn’t really see the point to it.  I wondered how I would find something to say every single day.  Now of course I find that my inner voice does not want to shut up!  I wake up in the morning thinking of what to say, and I go to bed at night doing the same.

So there you go.  That is me in a nutshell. Well, of course there are other aspects to my life, I love to cook and eat,  I have trouble quitting smoking, and I don’t always recycle.  I may have a library book laying around that was due back in 1978, and if I don’t like you, you will know.  But all in all, I have a pretty good life, and I think I am a pretty good person. And now you know about me.

Leave a Reply

